Comic Strip Sundays: There be Dragons…

This week, has been emotionally tumultuous to say the least.  I haven’t had the time to think, let alone post anything worthwhile to the blog.  But, I’ve found a spare moment in-between cram sessions to put together this week’s edition of Comic Strip Sundays.

This comic is one of my favorites, not because it’s about dragons, but because how this comic challenged me creatively.  The comic, titled “Angry Dragon”, stretched my original boundaries of implied motion. Instead of simply moving, Leroy was going through a metamorphosis; and trying to capture individual traits to show a gradual change was exceedingly difficult.  So much so, that I still don’t know if I got it right.

In addition, up until this point all of my comics had been of a strict, 6-frame format.  Don’t ask me why I originally chose six, I honestly couldn’t tell you. During the drafting phase of this comic strip, I soon saw that six frames weren’t going to be enough.  Out of necessity, a new format was created to house these longer, more involved story arcs.  The format has already been displayed with comics such as, “Alarm Clock”.

Nevertheless, ‘Angry Dragon’ was the proprietor of the new nine-frame format.  It allowed me more time and space to get my point across, but in the end, it still wasn’t enough.  Even after the strip was over, I still needed an ending…but the real question was…Who was going to win?

~Kurtis the Red

As always, be sure to Like, Comment, or Subscribe if you feel so inclined.  All feedback is welcome, especially this week.  Sound off in the comments and call out, “Who do you think will win?”

Angry Dragon

One thought on “Comic Strip Sundays: There be Dragons…

  1. Pingback: You Like Online Comics? | King Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

