Remembering the way things used to be…

ICelebration Print 2 - 1t’s amazing sometimes to realize how far you’ve come, to see how time has passed you by without even realizing it was moving.  I’ve realized this week that it has been a long time since I started this blog, long enough to where I’m coming up on my 1 year anniversary of my first post here at WordPress.

Besides standing as a milestone in my, somewhat lackluster, blogging career, my upcoming blog-birthday has helped me realize the way things used to be.  When I started this blog, I was posting content daily.  I was posting single frames intermediately with full comics and proclaiming my excitement about this medium.  However, all good things come to an end. Eventually, my excitement withered and left my blog to languish in obscurity.

What the Den used to look like...

What the Den used to look like…

But all was not lost, I found my drive again and started to post more regulated content along with short stories, prose, as well as a non-mitigated rant every now and then.  Readership was as good as it ever was, but even with a blog redesign, my views never fully reached the levels my initial foray into the blog-sphere produced.

Yet again, my interest in blogging started to wane.  Between the holidays, end of the year exams, each of which only amplified my already growing depressive mood, blogging was moved to the back burner just as before.

Now it seems, WordPress has called me back and I’ve started to write again.  The question becomes what should I do with this blog.  Part of me wants to strike out and forget the past, but another part realized that this blog has a past as much as a future.

Anyways, that’s where my head is at as I sit at my desk typing away on a Saturday afternoon. For those of you awaiting my post about my Mardi Gras experience, you wont have to wait much longer.  This post is one of those posts that end up being longer than I planned. So, the Mardi Gras post is taking some time in the refiner as I compress it down to a more cohesive post.

Besides that, I want to get back to posting regular content.  Which means that Comic Strip Sundays are making a comeback as well as Friday Nigh Free Writes… I hope.  What this means is, that for you long-time subscribers things will be getting back to normal.  For you new subscribers, things are about to get a lot more interesting around here.  So, thank you for taking time to read and follow along with me.  You are a great inspiration as I gear up to becoming a blogger again.

Immediately following this post, about an hour or so, will be a more traditional post of my blog.  Which is to say, more pictures… less words.  We’re going back to basics, and revisiting a musical series I haven’t penned in a long while.  I sincerely hope you all come back to see.

In closing, I know this post was rather long, and for those of you who reach this point, I love you all the more.  Be sure to leave a comment below about what you like best about this blog, what brings you back? So I can strive to do more of what you like.  For those of you who are new, I hope you like it here and comment below for anything you would like to see in the future.

~Kurtis the Red

Leave a Reply

