Kurtis the Red and the hunt for the Wii U…Part 2…

Now comes part two of my three part trilogy of short stories about my quest for the Wii U.  I have spent much of the afternoon with the machine, fiddling all the dials, checking out all the features, setting up the Networks, and also checking out some of the games.  So far, I’ve played a few hours of both Nintendo Land and DarkSiders 2 for the Wii U.  Both are excellent games, with lots of new features for the new console.  But enough about that…without further ado, here’s part two…(hey, that rhymed)…

Image representing Nintendo as depicted in Cru...

As you might have guessed, I’m a big #NintendoNerd.  I love Nintendo, even back when I was a small child I had fond affections for the publisher. As I sat in my car that night, trying to keep warm, I thought to myself of all the fond memories I have with the big N:  playing Super Mario Bros. with my actual brothers, the gold Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time cartridge, cartridges in general, and the new system coming out in a few hours.

What was I really missing with getting the Basic set? I was saving 60-70 dollars.  True, I wouldn’t have NintendoLand, and I would miss out on the stands and charging cradle for the GamePad.  Plus, with the Deluxe edition, you get entered into the Deluxe Digital Promotion…After a few minutes along this thought process, I knew that I could never live myself If I didn’t get all the extras that came with the Deluxe set.  So I threw away all my reservations and continued looking for my Holy Grail.

Best Buy store. Image is cropped.

Best Buy store. Image is cropped. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to the only place I haven’t yet checked, a Best Buy in the big city another half hour away.  I had already prepared myself for the possibility I would miss out on the system altogether, but that was a chance I was willing to take.  There was a glimmer of hope however, with all the pre-orders out there and customers wanting the system on Day 1, if there was a Deluxe set available, it’s completely possible I was going to be the only one out there buying one straight up.

As I pulled into the parking lot around 10:30 p.m., my chest swelled.  There was hardly a line at all! Barely six people were in line, all huddled around a card table wrapped in blankets and holding coffee mugs.  This was my chance.  So I wheeled into the nearest parking spot, grabbed my keep-warm clothing and headed to the back of the line.

What happened next, was one thing I wasn’t expecting.  As soon as I pulled my hat over my ears, I saw a couple dozen people all getting out of their cars at the same time.  Then the thought hit me, this is Flint! Who in their right mind wants to stand out in the cold, and more importantly out in the open, in one of the most dangerous cities in the United States.  I smiled to myself, which by the way, didn’t garner a lot of approving looks from the people behind me in line.  But hey, there’s no saves…or cutsies!

in line

Those of you who are reading this, and who have been at a midnight launch before, you know that conversation is one of the many tools people use to pass the time.  Pretty soon, I was brought into a couple different pockets of conversation about the new system.  ‘What games are you going to get?’ ‘Did you hear about this?’ ‘I can’t believe it’s HD’, so on and so forth.  But one thing I heard from both the people behind me and the people in front of me, was that they didn’t have pre-orders either!  My brain started to scramble almost immediately.  If all these people are here to buy a Wii U without a pre-order, does that mean the Best Buy didn’t do pre-orders? Did they have enough in stock? Does anyone else have a pre-order? Why is Pluto not a planet! “Are they any Deluxe sets left?”

As I silently started to fidget, and worry more and more about my future prospects, the time clicked ever closer to midnight.  Then it happened, the line was moving, the doors were open, the end of my quest was neigh!

<To Be Continued…>

~Kurtis the Red

Leave a Reply

