Dealing with the Unexpected…

There are times when everything goes according to plan; I love those times.  I especially love times when I can sit back like Hannibal Smith from the A-Team and say, “I love it when a plan comes together” with gusto.  Unfortunately, plans don’t always come together. And, more often than not, things don’t go according to plan.  This is one of those times.

As many of you know already, a ‘super’ storm named Sandy rocked much of the East Coast a few days ago.  Hurling winds, massive swells, and pounding rain tore through houses, buildings, and families alike.

Effects of this storm were even felt as far away as my neighborhood, here in Michigan. Gusting winds and rain, uprooted crops, forced many commuters off the road, and even knocked out internet and power to many residents, including mine.

Not everything goes according to plan.  While my plans for a series of blog posts were slashed by a loss of power. There are those on the east coast who lost a lot more.  My heart goes out to the people who were devastated by this storm.  Many of the victims are, to this day, still without power and provisions.

The sad part is that I didn’t really know much of this until early today when the lights came back on.  Without my computer, the television news, and hardly any cell phone service…I could only imagine what the situation was where Sandy made her landfall.

For now, I’m going to focus on the future.  It’s November! The singular, most under-appreciated month of the year.  Don’t believe me? check out store shelves, already focused on Christmas.  Keep a lookout for NaNoWriMo posts, and a few posts just for fun.

~Kurtis the Red

P.S.  I wanted to post this picture Halloween Day.  But, even the best laid plans of mice and men often go astray.  Enjoy and be sure to like/comment/subscribe.

Leave a Reply

