A ‘Sunday’ Night Free Write?…Weird…

It just doesn’t have the same ring to it does it? Doesn’t quite roll of the tongue as well as Friday does it? Anyways, as promised I will not repute you all out there a FNFW, I will post it today, Sunday.

As always, I try to write straight through the post with little to no breaks or edits.  Please forgive any small mistakes as sometimes, my fingers can move faster than my thoughts, and vice versa.

So, what I wanted to talk to you all about is the month of November.  With so many different things happening that month, things may be a bit different here in the Den if you come back to visit.  The main thing that goes on, at least the one that will take the most of my time, is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMofor short).

November Michigan Sunrise

November Michigan Sunrise (Photo credit: hz536n/George Thomas)

NaNoWriMo is a month long challenge for anyone who wants to escalate his or her writing.  The premise is, that after a month of writing everyday, and keeping track of your progress, you will have a set of writing that equates to words/pages of a novel length book.  The simple version of this, is basically a month long sprint to a goal of 50,000 words.

Now, this is a national event, and anyone can participate.  In fact, there is a website where you can connect and interact with other participants in your area.  In my experience, the best times are when you get together with other people taking the challenge.  There you can compare and contrast triumphs or horror stories, ideas or even bad experiences…even better if you combine booze with said gatherings, then try to write a page or two.

While many out there are sure to be working on one specific idea for the entire month. My friends and I usually focus on simply writing everyday.  Short stories, poems, random topical prose such as this, each of them can count towards something.  Plus, writing everyday helps eliminate the common misconception that writing is hard, or only for the naturally talented.  You get better at writing by…you guessed it, by writing.

Writing

Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

What does this all mean for the Den? Well for one thing, there are sure to be more Free Writes, Short Stories, or other such entries posted to the Den.  That isn’t saying that my cartoons will altogether stop.  I’m still going to try to do both, but my time will be stretched to say the least.

That leads me to another thing I wanted to talk about, NaNoWriMo isn’t the only thing happening during the month of November.  The presidential election happens during the first week of November.  I don’t think I could call myself a cartoonist If I didn’t do a political representation of that race. Plus, even though I don’t like it very much…politics do provide a very wide spring board for opinion style pieces.

Also, towards the middle of the Month, the Nintendo Wii U launches on store shelves.  Being a long time Nintendo Fan, I’m more than excited about this new console, and it gives me an opportunity to do something I’ve thought about for a while….Game reviews.  While just a thought, it would be a nice change of pace.  Plus…in all reality, I’m going to be spending hours on it anyways, so why not tell you what my experience was with the hardware.

Nederlands: Het Wii-U Logo

Nederlands: Het Wii-U Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The month of November brings with it a lot of possibilities for the future, and I hope I can share some of those experiences with you all, my avid readers. However, all this happens after my little experiment starting tomorrow.  There is still time to put forth your suggestions, so lets here them.

I hope you all enjoyed this, ‘Sunday Night Free Write” and as always, I hope you all enjoyed this post and be sure to Like, Comment, or Subscribe if you liked what you saw.

~Kurtis the Red

(For my Hardcore Nintendo Fans out there, which game should I pick up First?)

Leave a Reply

