Cover to Cover…to Cover…you get the Point…

When I started drawing, I had no idea that a simple hobby would grow into something as big as this. If I were to go back and talk to the 15-year-old version of me, and tell him about what the future could bring.  If I could tell him that, in just a few short years, he would have an established comic strip series (several in fact) and would have the honor of calling himself a professional cartoonist…well…let’s just say I wouldn’t believe even me.

However, in all reality…if I did actually come in contact with my 15-year-old self, the encounter would more than likely create a time paradox, the results of which would cause a chain reaction that would unravel the very fabric of the space time continuum, and destroy the entire universe.  Granted that’s a worst case scenario. 😛

Nevertheless, here we are, almost a decade later with little to no evidence that a time paradox ever occurred.

Now, as I promised a couple days ago, I aim in this post to ‘cover’ the different series of my comics.  The first of which was my initial creation and the longest running comic series to date.  “The Collegiate Exploits of Lex and Leroy” comic strip series stars Leroy and Lex as they life everyday lives of two college students at a University.  While their lives may be a little bit more ‘unfortunate’ that the everyday doodle, both of them are simply trying to find their place in the world.

Within each appearance in the series, Lex and Leroy find themselves in various situations brought about by the stereotypes that surround the college-age student.  It is common knowledge that the 18-24 year old demographic are overworked, caffeine-dependent, strongly opinionated, creative, reckless, and yes even a little sex-crazed and horny at times.  Lex and Leroy strive to make themselves parodies of these stereotypes, while keeping everything funny and witty. Why go for parodies, do you ask? Well, because everyone needs a little comic relief every once and a while. (eh…get it? Comic relief? Ha, I kill me)

The Collegiate Exploits was my first attempt at a weekly comic strip, and over the months my style started to cement and my tone and my audience became clearer and more finite.  While things may be a little bit more diverse than they were just over a year ago, this series remains the largest, and the one that has grown my comic-book world the most.

The next iteration of my comic strip series was created out of a deadly concoction that was comprised of a fair few of those aforementioned stereotypes.  With a combination of a lull in classroom studies, an over-abundance of caffeine, lack of sleep, all mixed together with more otherwise less appealing lifestyle choices, I was feeling more…well, lets just say crazier than usual.  What remained after that weekend was, the Animated Adventures.

Instead of being comical, Lex and Leroy had the chance to enter into an action platform.  They gained a plethora of what many would call super-natural abilities.  Here in this series, the ability to fly, turn invisible, manipulate energy, or even transform into different creatures was soon considered to be normal.  In other words, the rules of the normal world no longer applied.

“The Animated Adventures of Lex and Leroy”, marked a giant step for doodle kind among my comics. For the first time, the characters started to move.  They jumped, they fought, and all the while challenging my artistic talent. The simplest of things, even just  the bending knees, the angry eyelids, and movement lines more than likely wouldn’t be part of this comic series without the Animated Adventures.  For that, I’m more than thankful.

Finally, this last series is the one you’ve heard most of rather recently.

“The Masked Meanderings of Lex and Leroy” came into being rather quickly, I could say.  I suppose it was only a matter of time before Lex and Leroy become superheroes.  With the Animated Adventures already in place, and the influx of ‘Superhero’ Movies in the theaters, I should have seen it coming.

In the Masked Meanderings, Lex and Leroy and the extended cast are reprised into masked and caped superheroes.  This started off simple, Lex as Batman, Leroy as Spider-man  but I was soon drawing more and more superheroes which included the rest of the cast.  Without even realizing it, I had already created one full comic strip featuring Lex as Batman.

With the Masked Meanderings, things just fell into place.

I know this has been a long one, and try as I might…I couldn’t bring myself to cut much of this out.  I realize that for many of those who perchance come across my blog, this post will be far too long.  Their attention will more than likely wane, if not fade away entirely before they get to this point.

Either way, I sincerely hope you all enjoyed this posting.  Much of this will be a great springboard for the About pages above of which, fate willing, I will be working on shortly.

Until then, be sure to Like, Comment, and Subscribe away.  Be sure in the comments section below to tell me which ‘cover’ is your favorite; or maybe a topic you would like to see become a series of my comics.

~Kurtis the Red

(Stay tuned for some exciting developments when we come back.)

2 thoughts on “Cover to Cover…to Cover…you get the Point…

  1. Kurtis, your post is excellent and totally on par with other, established artists in your field. I think that your outline and description of how things came about was interesting and insightful. Keep up the Great work and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Leave a Reply

