Mad Respect for the Blue Bomber…

When I started out writing this blog, I had very high hopes.  I was planning on being eloquent and tasteful, funny and witty, while I enthralled you all with my stunning words and prose.  But of course, I fell flat on my face when I got to the meat of this posting.  Which is, as you all can see, about the original Blue Bomber: MegaMan

The reason I wanted to post this blog, is that the video game character MegaMan doesn’t seem to be getting any love anymore.  I remember Mega Man as a bad a@@ iron clad hero with a blaster on one arm and the ability to copy a bosses abilities.  That’s right Mega Man is so awesome that not only is he going to beat you down, he’s going to take your powers.  Plus, he’s going to use those powers to kill you if you come back to life at the end of the game.

Mega Man (character)

Mega Man (character) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But nowadays, he’s been out of the spotlight and in my view, and mainly I think he’s been forgotten. Recently, as in the last 10 years, we’ve only seen a few games debut in the original story lines.  And when I say original story lines, I mean the classic, X, Legends and maybe the Z series.  None of that Battle Network crap. Stop it.  Those don’t exist.  Stop it Now!

Anyways, as I was saying, recently we have seen MegaMan 9 and 10 come out featuring our main protagonist.  These two games were downloadable games available on the virtual story of your consol of choice.  They were in their original 8-bit style and harked back to the day’s of MegaMan’s youth.  Both were successes in my book, but it begs the question, where’s the A list game?  Where is the big budget spectacle we all know MegaMan deserves?

Just look at it this way, this December will be Mega Man’s 25th anniversary.  Twenty-five long years that spawned countless games, a TV show adaptation and cartoon, and a cast of characters as long as my arm (you all know it’s true, you all remember CutMan! Or SnakeMan!). But there’s nothing to celebrate that fact.  Capcom has even publicly announced that fans ‘Shouldn’t get their hopes too high’. Afraid that their hopes might be dashed at the end of this year with no game premiering.

Honestly, Capcom may be in the right by holding off on another MegaMan game.  After the debacle that was MegaMan Legends and the Universe MMO they were planning, another canceled game would probably be the nail in the coffin.  But in all reality, this is the time when gamers who grew up with these games, MegaMan, Zelda, and Mario, are old enough to have disposable income and still love these games.

We all want you to create a game were the Blue Bomber is still the hero we grew up loving, and we want you to create a game that is done right and is fun to play.  We just want it sooner, other than later.

If you’re a MegaMan fan, a gamer, or just pissed off at the world, let me hear you in the comments section below.  For those of you who are fans of the series, enjoy the sketch below and let me know what you think of Leroy as MegaMan.

As always, be sure to Like, Comment and Subscribe away.

~Kurtis the Red

(Here’s to you RockMan. 25 years of foiling the plans of Dr. Wiley and blowing up Mavericks. Cheers).

One thought on “Mad Respect for the Blue Bomber…

  1. Pingback: Cool Mega Man Oil Paintings by Duhokama « Return To Fleet

Leave a Reply

