Stressful Summers…

Over the past couple days; I’ve thought a lot about what I planned on doing for the rest of the summer.  I’ve realized that the days of spending my summers at ease are over.  I need to find something productive to do, and something that will act as a building block for the future.  Trust me this was not easy for me to tell myself.  I’ve known for a long time that this needed to be done, but chose to forget and ignore what my mind was telling me.

As a result, I have a couple options. All of them have their pro’s and con’s, and I can only pick one, since they all occupy basically the same time slot.

Option A: Summer Camp

For the last 2 years, for the summers of those years anyways, I was a camp consoler.  I spent the days along the shores of Lake Huron, with the summer breeze and the water within a few steps, literally living among nature for a month or so.  However, this wasn’t a piece of cake.  The campers there ran me ragged; it’s not easy to keep up with the energy level of 10-12 kids around 11 and 12 years old.  The weather sometimes didn’t agree and time to be by yourself was sparse to say the least.  However, it was a great way to spend the summer along with making some cash.

Until recently, I doubted I would be going back.  Even though I was a great consoler, I had the unfortunate luck to have a majority of my clothes stolen along with a little car accident with my vehicle as I lent it out to a co-worker.  That compounded with my changing situation, I thought about other options.  Now I’ve gotten the call that they would have me back if I was willing.

Option A would be consisting of me going back to camp for another year.  It’s fun, I’d be active, and I would see a lot of friendly and treasured faces. However, the pay isn’t that fantastic, I would be emotionally and physically wiped, and there are probably more responsible options I could be devoting my time too.

Option B: Summer Class

As my collegiate career was supposed to be finished by now, I should be doing everything I can to finish my degree and move along with my life as fast and as soon as possible.  I only have a handful of classes left to take, and with a little creativity on my part, I could get half of those classes taken care of before the start of fall semester.

Option B would consist of me commuting back and forth to school to take a summer class.  Along with the classroom time, I would be getting things in place for my senior portfolio.  This means finding, editing, and proofing all the necessary components from my past years at the school.

Option C: an as-of-yet-to-be-determined summer Job.

Option C can be simplified as simply another summer job; one that would make more money than option A as well as give me valuable job experience for later on in life.  My résumé doesn’t necessarily need more job experience, but having a job is better than having nothing at all.  Plus this would placate things at home, since having a ‘real’ job is better than being a consoler or a student.

So, I have a couple decisions to make.  As this week started, all I had were questions…not that I have the answers I need to make the best decision for me.  All in all, hopefully when I go home to the parents for Mother’s day, this discussion doesn’t turn into WW3.

~Kurtis the Red

(I realize this is the longest blog post I’ve written to date. So as a reward for reaching the end, or simply just scrolling to the bottom to read my witty quip, head to http://sneak-peak.pen.io/ to see a sneak preview of an upcoming comic.)

Leave a Reply

