An Idea is like a Virus…

For the title of this post, I’ve taken a quote from the movie, ‘Inception’, with a little liberty taken by me with the wording of course.

“An Idea is like a virus. It’s resilient, highly contagious.  The smallest seed of an idea can grow, and once an idea has taken hold of the brain it’s almost impossible to eradicate.  An Idea that is fully formed – fully understood – It can grow to define you, or it can grow to destroy you.”

Well, that is what has happened to me.  For the last three days, I’ve been at the mercy of my ideas.  Now that the semester is over, and time has once again returned in plenty, my mind has begun to wonder.  Now that I had all of this extra time in which to frolic and play with, gears started to creak, motors turned, and ideas began to form.  One in particular stuck, and began to grow.

An idea latched itself into the inner tissues of my brain and like a spider bite began to itch and fester itself.  The time came when I could no longer ignore its presence.  I breathed life into my idea.  Pen met paper, and the creative process began.  For near three days, I have hardly done anything else except expand and take care of this creature of an idea.

Even at the writing of this post, I am still at the mercy of my idea.  I cannot tell you how many hours I’ve spent sitting at my writing desk, but until this ‘virus’ has run its course, my other projects have suffered.  If you’ve been wondering why my postings have dwindled, this is the cause.

Wish me luck, as I dive back into the process.  When I emerge, hopefully I will have something to present to you all that is truly epic.

~Kurtis the Red

(Sometimes, I wish I could shut my brain off for a minute or two…Wait a minute, I can!  Where the hell is my scotch!)

Drawing, Coloring, He loves it.

Leave a Reply

